Cushing Award


The Cushing Award is presented to the highest in order of merit among Wisconsin 1st class Midshipmen in memory of Cushing’s unusual career as well as his heroism and Wisconsin birth.

CDR Cushing, born in Delafield, Wisconsin, and appointed to the Naval Academy from New York, distinguished himself in battle throughout the Civil War, including a raid on the Confederate ironclad CSS Albemarle.

Five ships in the U.S. Navy have been named USS Cushing after him. The most recent one, the destroyer USS Cushing (DD-985), was decommissioned in September 2005. Cushing has a portrait of him in full dress uniform hanging in Memorial Hall at the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis. Nearly all of the other portraits in the hall are of Admirals. A monument that honors Alonzo, William, and Howard Cushing is located at Cushing Memorial Park in Delafield, Wisconsin.


Cushing Award Winners

Year Name Hometown Company Service Assignment
2016 Thomas Wester Brookfield 14 Surface Warfare
2015  Ethan Albrecht  Oshkosh  22  Naval Aviation
2014 Gregory Gerlach Elm Grove 8  Submarines
2013  Troy Tauber  Sturgeon Bay 27  Submarines
2012  Jacob Cavey  Racine 10  Submarines
2011  Alex Eagan  Madison 13  Special Operations (EOD)
2010 John Campion Green Bay 9  Submarines
2009 Peter Bose Union Grove 7  Marine Corps


ALL ALUMNI -- To ensure you will receive important emails from the chapter, please keep your profile including your email address up-to-date with the National Association by clicking here.